A dalliance with wine – the Haynes Wine Manual

Tim Hampson's Beer Blog

Haynes Wine ManualWine has a cultured history which flows like a stream of consciousness from our pre-historic beginnings to the current day. And it is a little bit of this story that I try and tell in the Haynes Wine Manual.

It is the first time I have written about wine – books on beer and whisky were my drinks of choice. And I have to admit that I’ve been on quite a journey as I’ve discovered much about the history of wine and its close links with our culture.

I’ve explored wine in all its colours and styles and found out what a marvellous companion it is not just to food but as an ingredient in its own right and its quite easy to make at home.

Almost, since the first sip of wine was taken it has inspired philosophers, painters, poets, potters and even politicians. It is a drink of…

View original post 614 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

