Reflections on events in America

Chris Glennie

The screensaver on my iPad is a photograph of the statue of Abraham Lincoln staring out from his eponymous Memorial in Washington, D.C. The picture was taken and sent to me by my favourite daughter on a recent school trip. I was touched, as I had not expected such a thoughtful gift.

I acknowledge that this is an odd choice of screensaver, and an odd sort of thing to call a gift. But in our family it’s become a running joke that the Sixteenth President is something of a hero of mine. I dragged the family to the film “Lincoln” when it came out in 2012, and since then at any incidental appearance of the man in the British media (you’d be surprised, when you pay attention), a general cry of “ABE” rings around the house. I have a shelf-full of books in my study, and even managed to shoe-horn…

View original post 626 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

