Quantitative Literacy: The Philosophy of Math (no math required)

Social Economy

bad-mathAs a society, I think we’ve all been conditioned to think of anything mathematical as “truth.” After all, if I have 2 apples, and I eat one, then I only have 1 apple left. Who could argue with that as truth? But what if I have 2 apples, and 2 oranges, and decide to eat an orange instead of an apple? Why did I choose the orange? What if I chose an apple? Were there social forces behind choosing the orange over the apple? What is the likelihood of my choosing an orange over an apple in the future? Now the “truth” is not so clear, and as even mathematicians point out, math is very much about philosophy.

The typical response I get, even from the Academy when it’s discovered that I hold an advanced degree in Economics, is along the lines of: “Oh, I cant do math.” The fact…

View original post 783 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

