N is for Nowhere (the Middle Of)

Hopes and Dreams: My Writing and My Sons

by Lillian Csernica on April 16, 2016

n

In Everybody’s Autobiography, Gertrude Stein said of Oakland, CA, “There’s no there there.”  This is not true of Oakland, but I have seen many places where there’s just nothing there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA kanesonbikes.com

On one of our trips to Ohio, Daddy decided to take the southern route on I-15, which meant driving through a whole lot of very hot Nowhere in Arizona, Nevada, and Utah.  We had to put beach towels on the car seats.  If I didn’t, and I was wearing shorts, my skin would stick to the slick upholstery.  Peeling myself off of that was no fun at all.  Have any of you ever had to do that?

0644280_ca_lost_hills

Off California Interstate 5, just before you get to the Grapevine, there’s a little town called Lost Hills.  The last time I was there (late ’80s/early ’90s), the town consisted of one…

View original post 325 more words

1 comment so far

  1. LillianC on

    Thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

