Gorillas

tilly+david

*version française si dessous*

David is writing today!

This past week-end, I had one of my most memorable days of our African trip thus far. I got to participate in one the greatest wildlife experiences on the planet: gorilla trekking. Now, before giving all the details about how my trek went, I will provide a bit of information on the natural history of mountain gorillas. Hopefully upon finishing this blog you will be armed with more knowledge than some the people I trekked with (one of whom asked our guide to “spend some time to explain the difference between apes and gorillas…”).

The first tidbit of information that I will share with you is that gorillas are part of the ape family, our family. They are one of our closest relatives, sharing around 97% of our DNA (chimpanzees are closest, sharing 98.4%). As I’m sure everyone is aware, they are…

View original post 1,935 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

