Suddenly One Summer…when the Dachshunds Came

kerrymaddenstories - Two-State-Life - Deep South/West Coast

I told part of this story to a few close friends last night when we were talking about money struggles. It was 1984 during the Los Angeles Summer Olympics. I was so broke. I had technically “graduated” but had saved my summer of sciences that officially would complete my BA by August.

Then I would begin my MFA in Playwriting at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville.

I wanted to be Eugene O’Neill or Tennessee Williams or a mix of the two.

It was a vague but heartfelt plan.

I had been an exchange student at Manchester University in England the year before, and I came back my senior at UT determined to keep studying like a British student and speaking with a slight British accent. I even changed my major my senior year from journalism to theatre with a minor in English because my British friends told me, “Journalism is a…

View original post 2,255 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

