History under my feet…

weaving narratives

Weaving Narratives participant, Jenny, shares her discoveries on the history of Biscot Road, Luton

I left the first session of Weaving Narratives wondering what to do. I was fascinated by witness statements at the trial of Elizabeth Jones, who stole items of lace from a stall in Bedford Market in 1682, but really wanted to do something Luton based. The theme from my foundation degree in Fashion and Textile Design (2013) was ‘Inspired by Luton’ and I wondered if it would be possible to do something based on the place where I live, and to continue making ‘wearable art’. Could I layer the history, with older data underneath and translucent layers for more recent information?

I began to explore Kent’s and Commer Cars, as I believe the wall at the end of my garden formed the boundary between the two companies. I looked at the OS map link we were…

View original post 389 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

