An Unnecessary Woman

True, Raw and Random...

I started reading An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine at the beginning of this month and I finally finished it last week. I don’t usually take this long to finish a book and I didn’t take this long because the book was bad. On the contrary, the book was good, so good it made me want to weep. I’ll admit, the main reason I picked this book is because it is set in Lebanon. Sometime back, in an effort to be more self aware, to figure out and subsequently claim my space in this world, I promised myself to read more of the world’s literature. This promise has led me to have a different view of the world, a better view so to speak. A view that I have been denied by the media in their attempts to chase ‘news worthy’ stories which they deem important to me.

There are…

View original post 583 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

