The Day Daddy Disappeared

dawn2dusk2016

image

According to the KIDS COUNT Data Center, approximately 35% of all children in the United States grow up in single-parent households.  This poem  depicts one little girls story of the day her daddy left home. The KIDS COUNT Data Center is  project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation. http://datacenter.kidscount.org/

The Day Daddy Disappeared

I woke up that morning and was surprised to find my daddy was gone and my mommy was crying.
She was so upset, I didn’t know what to do, so I sat next to her and started to cry too.
After a while the door bell rang. It was mommy’s sister, Nikki Mae.
She let us both cry ’til we were all cried out. Then she said, “Get dressed, I’m taking you both out.”
Mommy shook her head no and refused to go. But she helped me get dressed and pushed us out the door.
“I’ll be all…

View original post 392 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

