A Letter to my Daughter on Her First Birthday

Kristin Helms

BY KRISTIN HELMS

[Featured on Tribe Magazine]

To my beautiful daughter on her very first birthday:

I‘ll never forget the first day that your Dad went back to work after you were born, and I thought to myself, “Alright, Miss Blake, you and I are in this together.” I had no idea what I was doing and I had no idea what being a mother truly meant. My, how quickly things have changed.

In a way, we both grew together over the past year. You learned many things, and I learned many things. You ebbed and I flowed, and in many ways, you taught me more than I taught you.

And here you are, one year old – a thriving, beautiful baby girl and you’re bigger than life, darling. And I love you more than life.

For the past year you’ve been my biggest worry and my biggest happiness. I…

View original post 441 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

