Tomatoes

janesitalianadventure

IMG_0600.jpg

Being a vegetarian, one of the things I really love about this part of Italy is the quality  of fresh vegetables, especially tomatoes.  They are at the centre of Italian cooking, and they come in all shapes, colours and sizes! And I have them most days for lunch.  In England I search in vain for that elusive tomato, that is rich and flavoursome as a tomato should be. Here I just go to my local shop and fill up my basket. The green ones will ripen in a couple of days or so, but they are also special in their own right as they have a piquant flavour lovely mixed with the ripened mature ones in a salad. And as I have recently discovered the buffalo dairy farm on the road to Orte, the salad with freshly made mozzarella and basil from the garden are a delicious meal.

An Italian…

View original post 27 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

