Mushroom Couscous Pilaf

food and cheer

dsc_0745.jpg

I love to have couscous in my pantry for its quick and simple mode of preparation. There are days, when I don’t have time to cook a pot of rice or even quinoa. Yet, I am not too keen to have any kind of bread either. On such days, couscous is my friend. It steams to its grainy and fluffy self, in just five minutes of soaking in hot water (or stock, to raise the flavor profile). Today, I decided to make this couscous into a veggie-mushroom pilaf, as a quick, light, and tasty workday  lunch.

MUSHROOM COUSCOUS PILAF

Serves two

Ingredients:

1.5 cups of couscous
1.5 cups of vegetable stock (or water)
1 cup of green peas
1 medium carrot
1 small onion
1/2 pound of mushrooms (i.e. 5-6  of baby Bella mushrooms for me. And well… I had only 1/2 pound of mushrooms left…If I had more, I would…

View original post 181 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

