First Attempt Buttery Croissants

projectpatisserieblog

When I think of french baking, croissants are at the top of my list. My favourite foods are those that taste like a dessert but are socially acceptable to eat for breakfast. Croissants meet this requirement and were therefore the first recipe I attempted from Christophe Felder’s book Pattisserie- Mastering the fundamentals of french pastry. 

You might make the assumption that following a good recipe should be pretty easy and result in perfect croissants every time. Unfortunately not if you are a bit slap dash with your baking like me. Not only did I manage to miss one of the chilling steps in my first attempt of this recipe, but I was also very disappointed to discover that I do not have the ability to estimate 5cm by eye. The length the base of the pastry triangles are supposed to be.

The result: Beautiful croissants marginally larger than a stamp. I ended up with 36 croissants rather than 18…

View original post 832 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

