I want to be a writer when I grow up.

thebutterflyspeaks

My first talent in this life was writing.   According to my mother, who raised me on a strict diet of poetry and prose, everyone from A.A. Milne to Emily Dickinson, I wrote my first poem at the age of 2.   The poem was:

“Num num num, I chew my gum, num num num.”     A masterpiece.

My mother is a writer and so is my grandmother.   My grandma still writes today, even though she’s in her 90’s, for the Intermezzo, the magazine of the Chicago Federation of Musicians.    And my aunt, an elegant combination of artist and healer, recently published her first book.

My father, an English major and songwriter, raised me on Shakespeare. I can still recite his favorite sonnet:   “Let me not to the marriage of true minds, admit impediments…”     This is one of the things you couldn’t help but…

View original post 667 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

