Can mindfulness be communicated through art?

Ailsa Brims

As I come close to the end of my MA Fine Art course, I am preparing to exhibit the pieces I have made in response to the proposal I wrote at the end of 2015.

Over the course of 2016 I have read widely about mindfulness and mental illness and it began to influence the work I was doing.   An artists work is very often autobiographical and provides a theraputic outlet for the practitioner and so it is with me.   But as well as working through my own issues, I wanted to illustrate the benefits I have felt from learning mindfulness and learning to be fully present in my life.

“It is only when we are awakened that we realise how much of our lives we’ve actually slept through” – Ellen Langer (Dhiman, 2012)

The project started with an exploration of the liminal – liminal spaces in our environments and…

View original post 386 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

