When it Rains

convicted

The best thing one can do when it rains is to let it.

rain-falling-down-best-2

I entered 2016 with confidence. “This will be my year,” I said. I  was not prepared for what was coming.

My mind was on other things when I got that phone call every child dreads. “Your dad is in the hospital. You need to come home.” The phone call came when I was giddy with possibilities. I just had my second interview at a local media house here in Observatory, Cape Town. Man, I wanted that job SO bad. I was ready. Ready to enter back into the “real world” after spending two years incarcerated. Life had been rough and after my deportation I was going to change all of that. I arrived in South Africa with wonder and excitement. There was nothing left, but I found liberation in that. When I stepped off that plane in…

View original post 1,506 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

