Pain is Temporary-Pride is Forever: Climbing Kilimanjaro

Irene in Tanzania

I have never climbed a mountain, so naturally, I decided that the tallest mountain in Africa would be a great place to start.

Note sarcasm.

I actually didn’t think too much about it when my friend invited me to volunteer in Africa and climb Mount Kilimanjaro. I was so excited leading up to the climb. I knew it would be difficult, but I had no idea what was in store for me. This is my Kilimanjaro story.

I distinctly remember the first time I laid eyes on Kilimanjaro. My jaw dropped. Even in that moment of seeing how massive it was, I don’t think I fully understood what I had set out to do.

I went with my good friend Elizabeth (who had invited me along) and another volunteer, Ashley. Our guide (Athumani) did a quick gear check to make sure we had everything, then we got onto a bus….with…

View original post 3,666 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

