The Third Desire – City of Peace

Beyond Imagination

image

The Third Desire – City of Peace

Two hours ago, when I my brain was fevered,
my third desire peeped through the window,
from the city of peace where it was born,
and told of a much more beautiful place than the city of Kubla Khan.
I tried to take a look, with a gleam in my eyes,
my weak hands holding the window,
when my first desire, from a sack of coins, shouted:
“Gazing directly at the city will wound your flesh.”
I looked, and my second desire was watching my red hands.
While sitting comfortably in an air-conditioned room, enjoying delicacies,
people from Kashmir and Jaffna, from Gaza and Yemen, from Baghdad and Kabul ,
from Tibet and Hong Kong,
from Tiananmen Square and Jallianwala Bagh, from Vietnam and Congo,
placed their red hands around mine,
with greed in their eyes for my third desire.
Two kids, a…

View original post 327 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

