The Great Allegheny Passage (10/24/2009)

Splattered Brains

As I get ready to bike the Great Allegheny Passage and the C&O Canal between Pittsburgh and the Washington DC area with my high-school friends at the end of the month, I am reminded of this letter that I wrote in the year 2009.

Many of you have been reading about my experiences on the C&O canal for the last few years, and you might still not get a sense as to why this has become a part of my life.  Truth of the matter is that most folks who live in this area are not even aware of the existence of this jewel in our backyard.  The C&O canal is just not a major topic of conversation in these parts.  But there is also another small dedicated group of people that is aware of this resource, and there are news-groups on the Internet where people like me visit…

View original post 595 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

