This Was Honduras

walking to florida

FullSizeRender_11

“I can’t in good conscience send my daughter to the little country with the highest homicide rate in the world,” said one of my loving parents about a year ago when I wanted to take a gap semester in Honduras. About a year later, I was on my way to the capital, Tegucigalpa. Yesterday, I came back in one piece. I’m not even sure I started the summer in one piece. Honduras was good to me…

Maybe Honduras wasn’t the safest, but that’s why we have high metal gates in front of each house and apartment. That’s why armed guards greet you at the door of every bank, supermarket, gas station, and office building. But don’t let the gun scare you off. Once I saw a guard with a gun in one hand and a pink ice cream cone in the other. One guard helped a toddler roll into the store…

View original post 526 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

