Gorse

Endless Erring

Gorse, or Onn. My Ogham few from Druid Camp. Gorse, or Onn. My Ogham few from Druid Camp.

At Druid Camp, everyone at the opening ritual was given a gift of an Ogham few, cut from the wood of one of the Ogham trees and inscribed with its corresponding symbol.

My wife received oak, and I was instantly jealous. I mean, come on…we’re Druids, who wouldn’t want to get oak, right? I, on the other hand, got gorse. A small, prickly, shrubby little thing that clings on to cliffsides at the coast. Hmm…not exactly the proud, tall tree of the forest I was hoping for.

But, it turns out that it kind of suits me, and that gorse has its own lessons to teach.

Gorse (Ulex europaeus), also known as “furze”, is an evergreen shrub related to broom, and adapted to dry conditions. It is extremely thorny, the thorns being modified leaves and shoots. It has…

View original post 364 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

